Translation available in multiple languages.
01 st Sep - 03 rd Sep | 10:30 AM IST

The Bhagavad Gita, a dialogue between Lord Krishna and Prince Arjuna, is universally revered as a sacred scripture. Comprising 18 chapters, Gurudev Sri Sri Ravi Shankar has retold several chapters from the Gita. This September, Gurudev will share the secrets of the Gita’s chapter 14.

In the 13th chapter (Kṣhetra Kṣhetrajña Vibhāg Yog), we learned that our existence in this world is the result of ignorance of our real nature and the attachment to the three gunas of Prakriti (modes) — sattva (goodness), rajas (passion), and tamas (ignorance).

In the 14th chapter, Gurudev will reveal the means by which we can detach ourselves from the three gunas. This knowledge is called The Yoga of the Threefold Gunas (Gunatraya Vibhaga Yoga).

Gurudev Sri Sri Ravi Shankar expounds on the knowledge with his characteristic depth, simplicity, and humor. The wisdom in the 18 chapters of the Bhagavad Gita is life-transforming.

Imbibing the teachings of the Bhagavad Gita translate to:

  • Living with more awareness, strength & compassion
  • Transcending beyond concepts and limitations
  • Being present to the moment
  • Developing greater equanimity, peace, & happiness

The Bhagavad Gita is a science and it can be used at all times. Bhagavad Gita talks about the meaning of life, how to overcome grief and so on. These truths are relevant to all times, and applicable to all people. It is the giver of eternal bliss.

~ Gurudev Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

What others are saying

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is the Bhagavad Gita?

A: The Bhagavad Gita is a 5000-year-old dialogue between Lord Krishna and warrior prince Arjuna that took place in the battlefield of Mahabharata.

Q: Why should I read the Bhagavad Gita?

A: The life-transforming wisdom of the Bhagavad Gita can help you live with more awareness, strength, and compassion. It can help you transcend beyond concepts and limitations and bring about equanimity, peace, and happiness.

Q: I have not heard/read the previous chapters of the Bhagavad Gita. Can I still attend this session?

A: Yes. Every chapter of the Bhagavad Gita touches upon different aspects of our life, and you can start your journey from this one.

Q: What is the right age to read the Bhagavad Gita?

A: The Bhagavad Gita has something to offer to every generation, every age group, and every mindset, and can be read by any age-group.

Q: What teachings of the Bhagavad Gita should one keep in mind for their daily routine?

A: The Bhagavad Gita has many teachings to offer. Some of them are:

  • Drop hatred and aversion

Do not think that if there is no sense of hatred or aversion, then you will not be able to fight. It is not so. Hatred and aversion only make you weaker. A person filled with hatred may appear to be angry and very strong on the outside, but in reality, he gets shaken, and the mind becomes weak and unsteady.
When you fight, do not fight out of hatred and feverishness; instead, fight with a firm determination and steady mind. There is a vast difference between these two states. When you compete, fight with complete enthusiasm and also with total awareness. This is the spiritual path; this is Dharma.

  • Moderations, or taking the middle path

Lord Krishna said, “One who works too much and one who is lazy, both, cannot reach the height of yoga. Only those who walk the path of moderation can get out of misery”.
If you win, don’t lose your head and if you lose, don’t lose your heart. You keep your heart in the right place, your mind in the right place and still be happy.

  • Sthitapragnya (Equanimity)

Whether you are poured with compliments or you are given umpteen numbers of insults; in both situations, keep your smile and equanimity.
Whether it is an enemy or a friend, pleasant circumstances or unpleasant; do not crave for praise or be hateful.
Such an ideal will help you manage your mental and emotional state of mind.

  • That which is temporary is sorrowful

Don’t look for happiness in that which is temporary, that which is fleeting and changing. Joy and happiness are only in something that doesn’t change.
So, there is misery before getting a position and while holding the position. The fear of its loss gives you sorrow. When it is gone, then also its remembrance gives misery. That is why it is called as asukham. There is no sukha (happiness) in temporary things. Sukha is inside you.

  • See the Divine in everyone

In the Bhagavad Gita, Lord Krishna tells Arjuna, “I reside in everyone, so see Me in everyone around you.”

  • Take refuge in the Divine (Have faith)

When the mother is at home, the child is confident. In the subconscious mind, a child is very comfortable knowing that the mother is at home. A sense of security, a sense of confidence, a sense of knowing that somebody is backing me, guiding me and caring for me, all this brings a deep sense of security. This is refuge.

Q: How would you explain the essence of the Bhagavad Gita?

A: Everyone desires that life should be beautiful, fulfilling, filled with love and success. Who does not want this? Everyone wishes that I should be all right and so should everyone else around me. But to achieve such an environment, our mind is the only obstacle - it is not the others. Our mind is our greatest enemy. If we know how to handle our mind, then we can manage our life too.

So, the biggest secret is how to handle the mind and how to become content, and Lord Krishna has explained this delicate art in the Bhagavad Gita.

The Bhagavad Gita talks about the meaning of life, and how to overcome grief and so on. These truths are relevant to all times, and applicable to all people. It is the giver of eternal bliss.

For any information or queries, please write to us at